Encouraging female students to take STEM subjects at A level

Hi!

I’m Steph and I’m a Sixth Form student who plans to pursue a career in engineering.

As the only (out of about 40 students total) female physics or further maths student in my Sixth Form, I am keen to encourage more GCSE students to take science subjects at A level. Speaking to some of them, a lot of them do not believe they are intelligent enough, even the top students in the class.

I am currently volunteering to help out with science lessons once a week but want to do more.

Does anyone have any ideas about how to encourage more students (particularly female students) to take science subjects at A level?

Thanks for any suggestions!
  • Hi everyone,

What I meant by my question was how can I help make it more welcoming to female students, so they do not discount physics as an option only because it is male dominated.

I have come to realise that it is exactly these kinds of attitudes (that STEM subjects are male dominated because they are only for men) that make STEM subjects unappealing to girls and women. Of course many girls and women choose not to pursue STEM careers because they do not want to, which is completely valid and these are not the people who I am trying to encourage. 

I am trying to encourage the girls who are considering STEM subjects but hear people like you telling them that they can pursue STEM careers if they really want to but that they will fail because they are not men, because that is even off-putting to me even though I have never wanted to pursue a career in the arts!

Thank you very much to the people who have replied with suggestions or who have helped to fight against the misconceptions surrounding gender.

• Benyamin Davodian,

The pay gap and lack of enduring careers in the UK is widening for women in STEM career sectors.

‘12 per cent of engineers in the UK are women and they earn around 11 per cent less than their male counterparts, on average.’