Encouraging female students to take STEM subjects at A level

Hi!

I’m Steph and I’m a Sixth Form student who plans to pursue a career in engineering.

As the only (out of about 40 students total) female physics or further maths student in my Sixth Form, I am keen to encourage more GCSE students to take science subjects at A level. Speaking to some of them, a lot of them do not believe they are intelligent enough, even the top students in the class.

I am currently volunteering to help out with science lessons once a week but want to do more.

Does anyone have any ideas about how to encourage more students (particularly female students) to take science subjects at A level?

Thanks for any suggestions!
  • By the way, Steph

Thank you for thinking more widely than yourself.

The mindset that you have that sees a problem and seeks to fix it is exactly the attitude that is needed today.

I wish you good luck in your studies at school and in your efforts to promote engineering to those around you

Peter M
  • Hi Steph,

I went to an all girls school 20 years ago, and I know what you mean! There were two classes of 15 for Biology and Chemistry each, but only 1 class of 9 for Physics. There were 2 for further maths and about 15 for maths.

What helped me engage with STEM subjects were:

- Careers advice in Year 9 - I knew I was going to be techy in one way or another from a questionnaire.

- Decent school trips - when I was small, we went to a very excellent Science Museum (MOSI).

- An appreciation of what someone can do with Maths and Physics - Only two people chose Physics purely for interest. The rest wanted to be doctors or engineers. (Interestingly, not astronauts...) If people (young and old) knew what Maths and Physics allowed you to do, then it would help relate the subject to the outside world.