This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

Has anyone got experience of contracting for a company that is based in a foreign country?

Hi,

I am being offered the opportunity to work for a small company in Canada who have no UK business. They want me to be a contactor (based here in the UK) rather than fully employed as they don't want the trouble/cost of setting up a UK business just for one employee. I have never done contracting before, I have always been employed. I realise that they will need to pay me enough to make up for the lack of the goodies that I get on a salaried job, such as pension contributions, vacation, sick leave and so on. What I don't know is what other questions to ask.

I have asked how many people work there, I have asked how the company is funded as I think it's pretty new (2 years ish old) and possibly only 21 people working there. I do know 3 people who work there currently, 1 better than the other two. I have spoken to these people and they're all positive about the firm. I am more worried about the logistics of working in the UK for the foreign company possibly during a rough period when I comes to financial markets and exchange rates.

I suppose that I am asking you if you can tell me what I don't know.... I suspect that I am missing a lot here. Can you think of anything I should be asking or thinking about? 

Thanks for any suggestions or thoughts..

All the best,

Brendan

Parents
  • Get yourself organized for an hours chat with a local accountant who specializes in setting up new contractors in the UK and doing their tax returns and so on. The fact your customer is in Canada is a complication, but you could bill them  to be paid in pounds on the spot rate of the day the bill is sent, so the exchange risk is on their side.