This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

PRA request declined

Hi all. I am currently filling in my application for CEng on Career Manager and am getting to the point where guidance from a PRA would be useful. I used the Find a PRA page on the IET site to request one but had a few days later on November 29th saying that the PRA they had found me had decided I did not have enough experience. No further details were given. The email said someone from the mentoring team would be in touch to get me setup with a mentor but I've not heard back on that.

My question is two-fold. Firstly, would it be appropriate to use the Find a PRA page again to ask for a different PRA, given that the first one refused? Secondly, I have a BEng, MSc and a couple of years of experience in industry, including in leadership roles. While I understand that this is a lot less experience than many CEng applicants, I have read several times that there is no particular set of qualifications or number of years of experience required. I am wondering what sort of experience they think I'm missing and how they would have come to that conclusion so I can fix it for next time (although I appreciate this is probably difficult to answer without seeing my Career Manager profile).

Thanks

William

Parents
  • Thank you all for your insightful replies. I should add that I have now noticed that I did actually receive an email from the mentoring team, I just missed it at the time, so I'm getting the form filled in for that.