Standards for design and manufacture of low voltage control panels

Hello

I am primarily a PLC engineer but more recently I have started to design electrical control panels.

The panels I produce are low voltage panels - hardwired logic, PLC control, motor control or inverter control.

What standards do I need to conform to?

I have read a little around the subject and  have found:

BS EN 61439

2006/95/EC Low voltage directive

| would like to produce a CE certificate with each panel.

Please excuse the potential vagueness of  my question, but I am hoping my initial question starts the conversation going

Lee

• Ah, you may find there are more than that. Be aware that there are folk who make a full time living doing nothing other than advising conscientious  designers and manufacturers which of far too many standards to easily remember will actually apply to their particular product. (though in some cases the makers can decide which standards they wish to claim compliance to, others are pretty much non-negotiable.)

That said, you are on the right track by asking before you start. You will need to meet some of the EMC related stuff as well, but there are others more qualified than I on other aspects who will hopefully pop and comment up shortly.

Mike.

• Hello Mike, thank you for your reply. You hit the nail on the head.

• BS EN 60204 might also be a contender.

-  Andy.

• | would like to produce a CE certificate with each panel.

Or UKCA or UKNI if they're destined for the UK market? https://www.gov.uk/government/collections/placing-manufactured-products-on-the-market

- Andy.

• What standards do I need to conform to?

I'd suggest you break this into three steps: what the legal requirements are, what standards will allow you to show that compliance requirements, and what further standards will your clients ask for.

Legally I can't think of anything other than (in the UK):