This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

Best route into a hands-on roles involving control & automation?

Hi

I would greatly appreciate some advice/recommendations to help make a change of career direction to a hands-on role in control & automation away from being a marine engineer currently desk based managing new-build ship construction. 

I have recently made some job applications to roles which involve programming PLCs, SCADA, setting up inverter drives etc.. but to no avail. Fair enough, since I would not hit the ground running. Some roles also require electrical qualifications which I do not have (My seagoing qualitifactions do not qualify me for land based work) so I have looked at doing C&G2365 levels 2 &3 including 17th edition as a way into working with industrial automation and controls, perhaps by working as a multi-skilled maintenance engineer within a factory? 

My background is that I have worked at sea as an engineer officer in the Merchant Navy, gained a masters degree in marine engineering, and have worked for a diesel engine manufacturer for many years.

Will contact this colleage tomorrow to ask their advice too, as their courses look promising: www.technicaltrainingsolutions.co.uk/index.html

cheers

Tim
Parents
  • Former Community Member
    0 Former Community Member

Hi Tim,

I would recommend emphasising the transferrable skills you posses which can then be aligned to the industry you’re looking to enter. Your marine engineering background I guess would include exposure to system’s engineering, requirements analysis, specification writing, IT & networking, system testing, and software development possibly?

Although these may not be directly relevant in terms of application area they nevertheless can be ported to the control and automation industry?