This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

MR16 LED - Halogen equivalence puzzle

Here are two MR16 style lamps I spotted for sale, almost side by side, recently . A 4·5 W LED lamp and a pair of 50 W halogen lamps.

7f4f86772b055dfb6be0335c84377a2c-huge-wp_20190723_005.jpg

d4174edbc9eb3c8d02c2b90402a4bc09-huge-wp_20190723_001.jpg

1. The LED lamp claims light output 345 lumens.

• The LED lamp claims equivalent to 50 W halogen.

• The 50 W halogen lamp claims 680 lumens.

Clearly these three statements cannot all be true simultaneously. What is the typical customer supposed to make of this contradiction? Which statement is true and which is false? I believe the second statement is false, but then I am an engineer.

I do not wish to single out GE; other manufacturers are making similar claims. In fairness to GE, at least it is displaying on its packaging the output in lumens more prominently than anything else, in line with consumer recommendations. Some manufacturers display the equivalent wattage of older style halogen or GLS lamps more prominently than anything else. This is a practice that I deprecate; it is counter-educational and pays no regard to the not-too-distant future, when tungsten lamps will be all but forgotten.