This discussion is locked.
You cannot post a reply to this discussion. If you have a question start a new discussion

Achieving firm grip on a small circular object

Hello,

I'm new to the IET community so I'm not exactly sure if I'm going about using the resources correctly. 

I have come across a problem in one of my projects some weeks ago so I would love to hear what more experienced and knowledgeable people in the industry think. 

How would you grip a small round steel part with a height of only 3-4 mm and diameter of app. 22 mm.

Holding the part is not the essence of the problem. The part has to be able to withstand torqueing another part into it at up to 40 Nm. 

The solution I used worked semi-well for the purpose but the grip is definitely not strong enough because the parts are coming out damaged more often than not. 

Parents
  • Do you want to hold it using  the large area surfaces or the 'thin' way?.

And relative to this what is the direction of the axis of the 40nm torque ? (are you making a thing  on a stick like a lollipop on a shaft. or more like a mushroom ?)

I have for example in the  past. super-glued things onto a a chuck plate. machined them and then dissolved the glue away in hot acetone.  This is probably no good for you, but With a better understanding of hte direction of the forces and which surface can be touched, better methods may become apparent.
    mike.

• Thanks for the reply.

The way I'd describe it is that the torque is applied in the axis perpendicular to the flat surface of the part.

I'm not sure if that makes any sense so I attached a picture for reference. 

Which way it is held doesn't matter provided that the top surface remains clear.

So the "sides" can be used and the bottom can be used.

But I can't make any physical changes to the part like drilling holes etc.