Is anyone interested in the theories of mathematical modelling of complex, nonlinear dynamic systems?

IMO, particle astrophysicists have made some terrible assumptions about the dynamics of spiral galaxies and the outcome is Dark Matter.

Is there any interest in starting a discussion on the physics of rotating, very large scale gravitational systems?

FYI, I am a control engineer with a PhD in modelling of the electrical activity in the human small intestine. Mathematically/modelling it is similar to spiral galaxies.

• As a professional physicist, my maths probably falls in your 'terrible assumptions' category so I am almost certainly not the right guy to ask to help ;-) however, my interest is piqued, twice actually, once to know which assumptions you consider are especially terrible,  and again to know how a spiral galaxy is similar to intestines.

The big problem with astrophysics is really that we are mainly stuck with observations we can make from here, or at least from either side of the sun 6 months apart, and the rest is really just theoretical.

I'm sure you know this, but for the benefit of others who may may not and then once they do, perhaps may be encouraged to join in, if we were to assume that the bright part of a galaxy shows where most of the mass is, (and assign a very estimated star and planet mass based on a combination of brightness and spectrum) then most of the mass is near the center, and at the dim edge of a galaxy things get more spread out, so there should not be much mass. Therefore, objects orbiting far from the center of the galaxy should move slower than objects closer to the center, just like the planets in our solar system actually do- which do that because most of the mass is at the sun - so mercury has a shorter year than we do, while the far out planets have much longer ones.