Power Factor Correction

I am currently working on a project and the client has asked for PFC to be provided for a large number of DOL inductive motors of varying sizes. I have very little experience with specifying PFC devices, as my background is mostly electronics.

The project is quite large and has been broken down into 5 sections, each one containing various VFD driven and DOL motors. 

My question is, should I split the DOLs away from the VFDs in the sections and spec my capacitors for the newly created DOL only sections, or provide PFC caps for each motor individually? 

What I have read online has just confused me, some documents/ forums say the PFC device should be brought on after full load has been reached, some don't. Some say for the whole plant, some don't. There is also some conflict about providing PFC to motors that run both ways.

Some clarification would be extremely helpful from someone with experience in this area.

• It depends, I'm afraid.

Traditionally capacitors were sited at the motor, and this still makes sense in many cases. In the language of electronics, the motor appears as an inductor in parallel with a load dependant resistor, and we are trying to tune this to parallel resonance, so the supply sees only the resistive part. Conceptually this is attractive, but it's not so simple.
    Firstly the correction required is motor dependant,  and will vary somewhat with loading. Star delta starters are especially problematic, and really require two different capacitor values for the 2 states. Capacitors suddenly connected to the mains at the wrong part of the cycle can lead to larger inrush currents, already a problem with bigger motors.