Bridging Systems Engineering in Civil Projects

I work as a Systems Engineer on a predominantly Civil Engineering project. A recurring issue is that the Civil Engineers don't fully grasp Systems Engineering. While I can guide them through the correct processes, merely following a process doesn't equate to understanding it. This often leads to a superficial, tick-box approach that lacks comprehension of the underlying rationale.

Civil Engineers should possess some level of systems thinking, though they may not realize it. The Accreditation of Higher Education Programmes (AHEP) document stipulates that accredited courses should include an integrated/systems approach, incorporating some systems engineering principles. The design element also encompasses a broader perspective of the design process.

For professional registration via UK-SPEC, Competency B1 focuses on project requirements. Competency C addresses various project management aspects, which are closely linked to Systems Engineering.

Effective communication often requires speaking the audience's language, particularly when reporting to senior leadership. Establishing shared concepts and values across different disciplines is crucial.

I am considering developing a "Systems Engineering for Non-Systems Engineers" training course. This wouldn't aim to fully train them as Systems Engineers—a process that typically takes 2-3 years through a Master's program—but to provide them with an understanding of the key principles and their importance.

Earlier in my career, while working in aerospace, new graduates were encouraged to attend a course by the aerodynamics department to understand the critical aspects of aerodynamic design. I still remember some of the aspects taught to this day.

I am interested to know if others have attempted similar training initiatives, whether in Systems Engineering or other disciplines embedded within another field, and what their experiences were.

Parents